Welcome, Guest ( Login )

Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

Very Helpful (8/5/2011)
You get a topic explained on about a page, then you get one or more pages of exercise, then another page with new topics, then the exercises again and so on.
It builds up slow and nice.

Marc - Munich
Should have a CD (5/23/2011)
I bought this book a few months ago and it has helped me alot. However, I do think it should have an accompanying CD or a link to a web site with recordings of the exercises that alows you to hear what a piece "should" sound like. Particularly the more complicated ones in the book. As it is now you just have to hope you are getting it exactly right. Otherwise I still recommend it for those wanting to improve their skills.

Bob - Georgia
Sight Reading (1/22/2007)
I'm a full time music teacher and this is the best book for students I have ever run across.
I ususlly use a Mel Bay book for the first 17 pages then switch to Rons' excelent text.

Larry - the great state of new jersey
Sight Reading (1/22/2007)
I'm a full time music teacher and this is the best book for students I have ever run across.
I ususlly use a Mel Bay book for the first 17 pages then switcg to Rons' excelent text.

Larry - the great state of new jersey
I love the difficulty progression ! (11/25/2005)
I bought this book a few weeks ago and i am not disapointed! I use to play guitar but when my church needed a bass player, i bought a new bass (no complaints there!) and this book. The thing i like the most about it is that the level of difficulty progresses in good steps: not too much at a time and not too little. It keeps a good challenge but does not get out of reach from one exercise to the next, very natural progress!

Christian - Canada
Good book (10/12/2005)
Starts simple advances to intermediate. Mainly stays in upper neck region. Good book for starting out reading.

Anthony - MO
Great Book (6/17/2004)
This is a really a helpful book.
It puts you to read right away and makes you want to continue...
Exelent book... buy it, you wont regret it!

Nathan - Puerto Rico
SIGHT READING FOR THE BASS (6/23/2003)
Wonderful book. Takes the mystery out of music and lets a beginner begin reading right away. Very informative and thought out and EASY to follow. I feel lucky to have found it. Recommended.

Rodney - Southern California
Review from “BASSically.net”, February 27, 2000 (11/10/2002)
The most comprehensive manual for learning how to sight read on the market today.

One word to describe this book – COMPREHENSIVE! For many musicians reading music is an often overlooked aspect of their musicianship, and for some musicians sight reading has been a dreadful and painful experience up to this point. But now in this book, Ron Velosky shares his practical and extensive experiences with us in an easy to understand fashion. Let’s face it, there is no real shortcut to learning how to read music. It is for this reason that many people never learn how to do it. However, if you want to be a really well-rounded player and be able to communicate with other musicians on common ground, then you really owe it to yourself to learn how to read the language of music. If you’ve struggled with reading music in the past, like many of us have at one point or another, then this book is the answer to all your sight reading problems. Sight reading is one aspect of music that you just can’t ever do enough of or get too good at. It doesn’t matter if you are a complete novice or a bassist who has been on the scene for twenty plus years, you will become a more knowledgeable and prolific sight reader through the study of this book.

Ron begins the book by explaining some basic, general music theory including the concepts of pulse, rhythm and meter. He then, in a very orderly fashion, explores the various subdivisions of a measure in the time signature of 4/4 including whole notes, half notes, eighth notes, quarter notes, sixteenth notes and all of their related rests. Through various fret board graphs Ron illustrates the location of the notes on the fret board along with suggested fingering and shifts. At strategically placed sections you’ll find review sections. These pages give you, the student a chance to interact with the book and check your understanding of the previously presented materials. Very nice indeed! Also in this book, you’ll find information pertaining to key signatures, arpeggios, ties, dots and dynamics. Ron expands on his written examples by sharing with you a vast collection of good advice and everyday useful analogies. To augment on help clarify the advantages of reading line contours and looking ahead in the music. Ron offers his insight on how to go about practicing sight reading along with a great analogy of how you can relate musical phrasing to spoken words. In order to get yourself in the right state of mind before actually reading a new piece of music, Ron lays out a useful checklist of questions that you should ask yourself before starting any sort of new material. Before concluding, Ron offer up a serious buffet of highly advanced and syncopated 16th note funk lines (good luck to you here), and then concludes with some helpful advice on how to approach triplets and compound meters.

This book is laid out in a very orderly fashion. The text is an easy to understand manner, and the precision of the actual notation makes reading through this book extremely easy. Electric bassists and acoustic upright players alike will benefit greatly from the wealth of information that Ron has presented us with in this book. Bottom Line: Sight Reading for the Bass may be the most important investment you ever make in your musical education. Period. This book is a can’t miss.

C. Engel - N/A

'Review from Wheat's Bass Book: (11/10/2002)
A comprehensive method/resource for the electric bass
http://venus.jtlnet.com/~wheatdes/bassbook
For those of you interested in learning to read standard notation . Ron Velosky's 'Sight Reading for the Bass' /// is the best resource I've found.

Wheat - N/A
Sight Reading for the Bass (11/10/2002)
'Ron Velosky, in Sight Reading for the Bass. Has written a concise and comprehensive, yet easy to follow guide for the beginning bass sight reader. The book is composed in a clear and intutative way; it's examples are practical ones, and it's lessons can be immediately applied to everyday reading situations. It is the most effective reading text for beginners I have used in 26 years of teaching the bass, and it has become one of our main text in the Electric Bass Techniques course offered here at Shoreline C.C. A classic book along with Simandl, The Evolving Bassist and Modern Reading Text in 4/; it is a must for anyone who is serious about learning to sight tread on the bass'.

Steve Kim - WA
Mike Richmond, jazz bassist (11/10/2002)
'Sight Reading for the Bass' is a practical, step by step approach to a necessary skill. Ron covers all aspects od sight reading in a methodical and musical fashion'.

Mike - CA
  • 1

  • IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    PLAY LIKE JACO PASTORIUS
    PLAY LIKE
    JACO PASTORIUS


    Here's a comprehensive analysis of the techniques of Jazz/Fusion's best player. Includes companion audio download.

    BOOKSELLER'S CHOICE

    GROOVING WITH HYBRID TECHNIQUES
    GROOVING
    WITH HYBRID
    TECHNIQUES

    THE FOUR-FRET CONCEPT
    THE FOUR-FRET
    CONCEPT

    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    SLAP IT!
    SLAP IT!
    Also:
    -ONLINE COURSE-
    THE BASSIST's GUIDE TO INJURY MANAGEMENT
    THE BASSIST'S GUIDE
    TO INJURY
    MANAGEMENT
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    BASS ENCYCLOMEDIA
    BASS
    ENCYCLOMEDIA
    BASS TAB WHITE PAGES
    BASS TAB
    WHITE PAGES
    (200 songs!)



    CHUCK RAINEY'S
    COMPLETE
    ELECTRIC
    BASS PLAYER


    LEFT-HANDED
    BASS TAB
    METHOD

    SANTANA'S
    GREATEST HITS
    2+2=5
    A STUDY IN
    ODD TIMES

    THE LATIN
    BASS BOOK


    THE REAL EASY
    EAR TRAINING
    BOOK

    ADVANCED
    STUDIES FOR
    BASS GUITAR

    CLASSIC FUNK
    AND R&B
    GROOVES
    FOR BASS

    BASS
    FRETBOARD
    FACTS

    BEST OF
    MARCUS MILLER


    ARPEGGIO
    WOODSHEDDING
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    PINO PALLADINO:
    BASS TRANSCRIPTIONS
    -EBOOK/PDF-
    THE BEST OF
    YES FOR BASS
    JAMES BROWN:
    BASS PLAY-ALONG

    MILES DAVIS:
    KIND OF BLUE
    STEVE BAILEY'S
    FRETLESS BASS

    THE MOST
    BEAUTIFUL HYMNS
    -EBOOK/PDF-


    DIY ELECTRIC
    BASS
    THE JOHN ENTWISTLE BASS BOOK
    THE
    JOHN ENTWISTLE
    BASS BOOK
    THE EVOLVING BASSIST
    THE EVOLVING
    BASSIST:
    MILLENIUM
    EDITION

    EADG 4
    EADG 4
    BACH CELLO SUITES FOR ELECTRIC GUITAR
    BACH CELLO
    SUITES FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS

    FRETBOARD ARCANUM
    FRETBOARD
    ARCANUM
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    JACO: THE DOCUMENTARY
    JACO: THE
    DOCUMENTARY
    -DVD-

    -BLU-RAY-
    BERRY OAKLEY
    BASS
    TRANSCRIPTIONS
    -EBOOK/PDF-


    HEARING
    BASS LINES,
    COMPLETE
    BUNDLE
    -EBOOK/PDF-

    RICKENBACKER
    ELECTRIC BASS


    HOFNER VIOLIN
    BEATLE BASS
    BASS
    BIBLE
    THE SWING OF
    THE LATIN BASS

    EXPOSED:
    SOLO MUSIC
    FOR BASS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    THE BEST OF
    MEGADETH
    TODD JOHNSON
    ELECTRIC BASS
    TECHNIQUE
    BUILDERS


    THE COUCH
    POTATO BASS
    WORKOUT
    ABBEY ROAD
    TO
    ZIGGY STARDUST
    NATHAN EAST:
    THE BUSINESS
    OF BASS
    -DVD-


    GUNS N' ROSES
    FOR BASS

    CHARLIE PARKER
    FOR BASS

    CRACKING THE
    DETROIT CODE
    -ONLINE COURSE-


    SIGHT READING
    FOR THE BASS
    25 ESSENTIAL
    ROCK BASS
    CLASSICS


    NIRVANA:
    THE BASS GUITAR
    COLLECTION

    BASS PLAYER:
    THE
    FRETLESS BASS


    THE REAL BOOK
    VOL. 1
    BASS CLEF
    JACO
    PASTORIUS
    THE BEST OF
    VICTOR WOOTEN

    WALKING BASSLINES
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    BEYOND
    BASSLINES: FROM
    BACH TO BRAHMS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    THE BEATLES:
    1967-1970


    STANLEY CLARKE
    COLLECTION

    101 BASS TIPS
    SLAP BASS LINES

    RED HOT
    CHILI PEPPERS:
    GREATEST HITS


    BUNNY BRUNEL'S
    POWER BASS:
    SOLOING SECRETS
    100 BLUES
    LESSONS
    100 JAZZ
    LESSONS

    100 ROCK
    LESSONS


    100 FUNK/R&B
    LESSONS
    AFRO-CUBAN
    SLAP BASS LINES
    BEST OF
    TOWER OF POWER
    FOR BASS

    BASS
    STANDARDS
    BERKLEE PRACTICE
    METHOD: BASS

    THE SCOTT
    LAFARO BOOK


    HOW THE
    FENDER BASS
    CHANGED
    THE WORLD


    KEITH
    FERGUSON:
    TEXAS BLUES
    BASS
    EDLY'S MUSIC
    THEORY FOR
    PRACTICAL
    PEOPLE


    ESSSENTIAL
    STYLES FOR
    THE DRUMMER
    AND BASSIST,
    BOOK ONE
    ESSENTIAL
    STYLES FOR
    THE DRUMMER
    AND BASSIST,
    BOOK TWO

    MOTOWN
    BASS CLASSICS
    OTEIL
    BURBRIDGE
    -DVD-


    SIGHT READING FUNK RYTHMNS FOR BASS
    SIGHT READING
    FUNK RHYTHMS
    STANDING IN THE SHADOWS OF MOTOWN
    STANDING IN
    THE SHADOWS
    OF MOTOWN


    CLASSICAL MASTERPIECES FOR ELECTRIC BASS, VOL. 1
    CLASSICAL
    MASTERPIECES
    FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS
    VOL. I
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    CLASSICAL MASTERPIECES FOR ELECTRIC BASS, VOL. 2
    CLASSICAL
    MASTERPIECES
    FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS
    VOL. II
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    STEVE HARRIS: THE BEAST OF THE BASS
    STEVE HARRIS:
    THE BEAST OF
    THE BASS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    FRETBOARD ALCHEMY
    FRETBOARD
    ALCHEMY
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    SEARCH

    IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    BASS GUITARIST'S GUIDE TO READING MUSIC
    GUIDE TO
    READING MUSIC:
    BEGINNER

    INTERMEDIATE
    ADVANCED
    This great series will teach you everything you need to know to read music on the bass guitar. Audio files are a free download from the publisher's website.

    QUOTE -- UNQUOTE

    "Music is in the air. It's my job to pull it out."
    --Jaco Pastorius

    "I try to make sure my part is notable -- that it's not only right for the song, but also represents the bass in the highest light."
    --Nathan East

    "Even when playing the simplest song with just whole notes, make sure that they're very good whole notes!"
    --Larry Paxton

    "It's the bass that makes them dance."
    --Darcy Wright

    "Guitar is for the head, drums are for the chest, but bass gets you in the groin."
    --Suzi Quatro

    EBOOKS

    Save time and money (and reduce your carbon footprint!). Order books and transcriptions in easy-to-download PDF form. Read them on a desktop, laptop, phone or tablet, and print out pages as you wish.

    Click here to check out our full list of EBOOKS (over 160 titles)

    Click here for EBOOK download info and instructions

    OUR NEWSLETTER

    Sign up for our newsletter, THE MONTHLY LOWDOWN, and get the word on new products and happenings.


    Preferred Email Format:

    SEARCH

    LET'S GET SOCIAL


    Facebook Twitter

    LISTEN AND SHOP

    Click on the BassPod to enjoy bass solos and bass-heavy songs.

    BUY MORE AND SAVE

    We offer discounts based on the number of titles purchased in a single order. You will see the discounts automatically applied during checkout.
    3-5
    5% off
    6-9
    10% off
    10 or more
    15% off
    PLEASE NOTE:
    Discounts apply to merchandise only, not shipping fees.




    Perfect Pitch Ear Training Course





    A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
    0 Item(s)
    US$0.00