Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

Excellent, logical bass specific reference book. (1/1/2008)
With this impressive book Mike thoroughly explains all the musical ideas you run across as a bassist - scales, intervals, arpeggios, chords, etc... the list is endless. It is one of the most complete reference books I have ever come across, equally addressing beginners and advanced players alike (although I think that it can be somewhat overwhelming to absolute beginners due to the huge information flood). The strength of Bass EncycloMedia lies in it''s timeless topics, meaning you can look up a topic when you want to learn more about it (or need information about it), rather than trying to study the entire book in one sitting. An excellent and logical bass specific reference book. 5 Stars!

Nick - Boston
Innovative Thinking (5/1/2007)
'Bass EncycloMedia is one of the most informative music text books that I’ve ever come across. Being a former educator, I’ve seen and used books that were very boring and non-interactive. 12 Tone Music materials are different, they are very practical, exciting and fun. With them the student will learn much more than the instrument itself, they will learn the relation of the instrument to the theory. I commend you on your innovative thinking.' - Two time Na Hoku Hanohano Award winner and Don Ho bass player for 15 years.

Nathan - Hawaii, USA
A most profound revelation! (5/19/2006)
'Bass EncycloMedia is a most profound revelation! I am certain that this book - written with cool analysis and prophetic vision - will have a most significant effect on any player who studies it. It is an important contribution to those thinking bass.' -
Marshall 'Rock' Jones - Mega Bass Master for the Ohio Players.

Marshall 'Rock' Jones - n/a
A Most Profound Revelation! (5/19/2006)
“Bass EncycloMedia is a most profound revelation! I am certain that this book - written with cool analysis and prophetic vision - will have a most significant effect on any player who studies it. It is an important contribution to those thinking bass.' - Marshall “Rock” Jones - Ohio Players

Marshall - California USA
Enlightened Student (5/19/2005)
Thanks to the simplistic explinations to many imfamous music queries presented in this book, my understanding of music theory has extensively broadened. Mike has figured out many vital truths about music that are neglected, and many alternative teaching methods to clarify confusing theory 'mumbo- jumbo'. Any one truely serious aboout learning their instrument, the bass, will check out this inventive groud breaking book.

Philip - Ohio
Finally Visual Bass Theory & Application. (4/30/2005)
I have played bass for almost 30 years. I'm also a private bass guitar instructor. Finally someone has written a book that is visual. Not only explaining in text but with diagrams. Most students I teach are visual learner's. They need to see it as well as hear it. I have found a new way to reach my students using this book. I also recommend to my serious students to get this book. Mike has done a wonderful job of presenting bass theory and making it easy to understand and apply to real playing situations. This book will fill in the gaps of questions you have with other method books.

Jay - North Caroline USA
I have yet too find a better bass book (4/14/2005)
I've been playing Bass Guitar for 20 years now. I have yet too find a better bass book than 'BassEncyclomedia' . It is truely the best bass book for beginners & advanced bassist alike. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to start, or advance in the bass guitar world.

Carlos Miller - Ohio
This is a great addition to the library of every bass player - I am very impressed! (4/3/2005)
"As a professional bass player for over 30 years, I didn't think I had much to learn from Bass EncycloMedia. Boy, was I wrong! This book is filled with practical and highly musical techniques and information that will benefit bass players of any style and ability level, especially those who have passed beyond the "beginner" stage. The BEM is written the way most bass players think.....visually instead of in notation. This is a great addition to the library of every bass player - I am very impressed! "
- Dr. Robert A. Cutietta, Dean - The Thornton School of Music - The University of Southern California

Robert - CA
[1]