Welcome, Guest ( Login )

Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

EADG 4 - This Is Pure Gold! (9/26/2014)
At last, bass instruction that is straightforward, logical and written by a guy who clearly knows his subject inside out and upside down! A no-nonsense approach which cuts out all the crap! I have had this guide a couple of weeks now and I already feel like I know the author! This is the only bass instruction text book you need! Buy it now because you will be amazed!!

Marcus - Hampshire / UK
Unique approach to learning bass (12/12/2013)
Falstrom's EADG4 is a quintessential book for bassists. Whether a beginner or advanced player the book has it covered. John has an ability to make learning not only useful, but fun. If you want to learn the circle of 5ths, the modal system, or one of my favorites different ways of playing the scales; you can find all of this easily. Want to work on developing your own sound well there is even a section for that. Do yourself and favor and get EADG4 it is truly a complete instructional masterpiece.

John - IL
Essential for any bassist (11/2/2013)
EADG 4 can take a beginning/intermediate bassist and turn them into a professional. It rounds out the knowledge necessary to play at a professional level, and has endless learning potential and capabilities. In my mind, other than a bass itself, this is the most essential piece of gear for any bassist, or musician in general for that matter as the theory applied here can be applied to every other instrument.

Ryan - Chicago
EADG 4 (10/13/2013)
great book. a must have.

Rob - New Lenox, IL
EADG 4 (10/11/2013)
It is the best way known to man for learning Bass the right way.

RYAN - IL
Amazing learning tool (10/11/2013)
John's book is the key to infinite knowledge of the bass guitar. Front to back this covers everything you need to become an accomplished bassist. This book is a must have for anybody seeking a total understanding for the instrument. TCOB.

Joe - Illinoi
What We Want in a Book (10/9/2013)
I found myself a thirteen year-old boy wanting to play bass in a metal band. Now I'm an eighteen year-old boy who has played bass in a metal band - and has started his own acoustic band. Let me tell you what, I wouldn't have gotten anywhere without the help of John Falstrom or his book.
It truly is the bassists best friend and his lessons and guidance helped me along the way.

You pick up this book wanting to know how to play a bass and you set it down knowing how to master it.

Nick - Illinois
A foundation for musical literacy (10/9/2013)
EADG 4 is one of the most comprehensive books I've ever read. I've toured internationally and have done session work for major film scores and countless recordings. None of that would be possible without this book and John Falstrom opening the door for me to better understand music theory. This book is required reading for anyone playing bass guitar.

Kevin - Chicago
EADG 4 (10/5/2013)
By far the easiest bass book I've read,very easy to comprehend for the price you can't find a better book & John makes the book even better with his explanation of the scales,circle of fiths, chords etc, A very talented player He has a gift at explaining theory & technique. You really can't beet this deal, You definitely get what you pay for & more.

GARY BUSICK - Matteson,Il.-USA
EADG 4 (10/5/2013)
EADG 4 is the easiest bass book I've ever read & comprehended.Dollar for dollar You'll never be sorry You spent the extra few bucks for this book,but You can bet you'd be sorry if you didn't once You read some of the others.John is also My teacher And of all the teachers I've had over the years John has to be the most knowledgable and skilled He's just like the book "He's The Best".

Gary - Cook Co.Illinois
Exceptional, Practical, Essential (10/3/2013)
"EADG 4" by John Falstrom is an exceptional book written by an exceptional musician and teacher. You can buy 10 books on learning to play bass, and many of them can be good but most are pretty much the same. "EADG 4" is totally focused on the bass fretboard and teaches in its own style, one I found nowhere else. I'd get "EADG 4" first. Note reading is a good skill, but not needed to understand what John Falstrom is teaching: to play, to really play the bass like its part of me. Is that too corny? It's true! And that's not all after studying "EADG 4", learning to read a score should come a lot easier. I feel lucky to be a bass player. Those guys and gals studying other instruments don't have a book like this. They should get it anyway, because the lessons learned are useful to any musician interested in rhythm, melody and harmony. The price is a bargain. The cover mentions music theory, but really its music theory learned by playing on the bass fretboard. Its practical! If the bass fretboard didn't exist, it would have to be invented for teaching music. Take a look at the table of contents. Everything you really need (which is what you really want) is there, and also some stuff you won't appreciate until you do it. To learn what you need to know to make music -- isn't that just what I wanted? Isn't that cool? Some of the 5-string bass players might think they need "BEADG 5", but "EAD 3" would have been good enough for all of us; you'll see what I mean. It does take practice, some every day is best. If you'r a raw beginner you will still need a teacher. I studied music for many years with good teachers and didn't learn what "EADG 4" has taught me. Didn't get any gigs either. Now I am happily playing bass in some serious contemporary Christian bands, praise Jesus, and jammin' pop with the guys and gals for fun. Lots of fun. Does it get any better?

Tom - Illinois, near Chicago
EADG4 (9/25/2013)
I picked up my first bass guitar at age 45 and John Falstrom had me on stage a year later. Great book, Great teacher!!

Bob - Illinois USA
EADGood!!! (9/24/2013)
This is a great book explaing music theory and applying it to the bass guitar. John Falstrom is very knowlegable on music theory, and does a great job showing how to use this information in your playing, A great source to come back to time and again when needed.

Frank - Indiana, US
This is a Must Have! (9/15/2013)
After playing bass for 20 years, I thought I was pretty good, but wanted to get to the next level. I bought this book and realized I was just scratching the surface. I knew little bits and pieces, but this book covers it all. It has all the necessary basics, but then it doesn't stop. There is so much good info here that you will be using this book years from now, just as you did when you bought it. Once you put all the pieces together, you can play any style of music, and understand it. I've progressed faster after getting this book than after any of the other books or videos I've bought in the past. Every bass player should have a copy of this one!

Mark - IL
John is the best (9/13/2013)
I went from knowing not one thing on the bass, to being able to sit in with the musician at my church. This book gave me more than enough exercises that has allowed me to "shrink the bass" so that the area that im covering isn't so big.My hands hurt sometimes, my fingertips become purple and i owe it all to this book. I love being able to play along with the music that i grew up listing too..

Kavin - Illinois
Got To Get You Into My Life. (9/10/2013)
EADG 4 is the very best in bass guides, hands down. The concept behind EADG 4 is unique to other textbooks and it translates very well. It's approach is designed to give any student an advantage by not only explaining theory, but also showing application. EADG 4's layout easily communicates definitions and exercises making it even more fun to practice your bass! EADG 4 is Spot-On and is perfect for the player who is looking to accelerate quickly. It's perfect.

"express" - Chicago, IL
The Best Book for Bassists (9/7/2013)
If you want to get better at bass, this is the book for you. Whether you're a beginner or an expert, you need to have this book on your shelf. This book has lessons and methods that will add new dimensions to relatively simple songs, and will teach you how to come into your own as a bassist instead of just copying things you hear in songs. This book teaches in fingerings rather than tablature, which hinders learning, or notes, which halts creativity. I suggest you buy this book, sit down with a classic album, and learn how to play the bass part 10 different ways for each song, because it is possible with this book.

Nate - New Mexico
Theory for the bass (9/5/2013)
Theory for the bass is such an important aspect that must be learned if you are going to get to the next level on the bass. This book takes theory and puts it into play with easy to read finger patterns and examples of how to play the different modes.
This is a must have in your arsenal of tools and should be kept in your gig bag for reference!

Thomas "TBone" Johnson - Indiana
EADG 4 (9/5/2013)
EADG 4 is an exceptional book for beginners as well as experienced players. I learned how to play the bass by using EADG 4. In fact, I took bass lessons with the author, John Falstrom! Phenomenal person, phenomenal book. I recommend this book to anyone who is serious about learning the ins-and-outs of the bass guitar.

Evan - Illinois
EADG 4 (9/4/2013)
I've purchased a number of instructional books for bass guitar over the years, but none compare to EADG 4. It's straight forward, easy to follow, and organized for quick reference. No bassist should be without it.

Dave - Illinois
Simply the best theory book out there (9/3/2013)
John Falstrom does a stand up job of taking complex musical theory and breaking it down to what matters on the fretboard on the bass. This is the must have theory book if you plan on being a serious bass player. John takes a no nonsense approach and lays out everything he has learned in his years of complex theory study and breaks it down so it's simple to understand and what really matters to playing bass. Quite simply the best theory book for the bass guitar ever written!

The best part if it all is that if you have questions he posts links to his website and answers all the questions you could ever have!

Matt - Illinois
EADG 4 (9/3/2013)
This is a must buy book for every bassist. I reference it all the time for theory or just to stir up some writing ideas on bass. John Falstrom is the"Yoda" of bass. I was fortunate enough to have him as a teacher and a bass mentor. This book shows why he has a long list of successful students. He not only shows you how to play bass, but how to live bass. Do your self a favor, buy this book. Then you can be a Jedi bassist! Thanks John for all you do!, keep on groovin!!!

Jeff - Chicago, IL
Hands down the best theory instruction book for all experience levels (9/2/2013)
As a former student of John Falstrom's for many years and one of the first students exposed to the at the time developing EADG4 instruction book I can honestly and whole heartedly say this book is absolutely hands down the best instruction out there. John wrote this book in such a manner that whether you are a beginner or a veteran bassist you will be able to follow the materials and lessons in the book with ease. The book covers all spectrums of what a modern day bassist will and should want to know. He covers every angle from major/minor scales, modes, chords in major/minor keys, chord structures and a an enormous amount of music theory any bassist would want to know and written in a clear and concise manner. The book also includes what many other books do not in a detailed practice schedule and a variety of finger exercises to perfect playing dexterity and strength. As John is himself an actively performing bassist the book enlightens any student with all the tool, knowledge and skill needed by todays actively performing bassist. As a 25 year professional of several locally successful music acts and having used EADG4 extensively as the backbone and framework of my own playing there is not another instruction book I would ever recommend. If you want to be the very best bassist you can be make sure you make EADG4 the book that gets you there! It got me there and it will do the same for you!

Mike Adams - Illinois
A Valuable Resource (8/14/2013)
When you purchase EADG4, you get not only a theory book, but also the accumulated wisdom of a long-time dedicated professional. Along with theory, John includes advice on practice schedules, practice equipment, practice habits, finger patterns, fretboard memorization, instrument care, different types of basses, musical notation (learn it), tablature (lose it), and more. A valuable resource from an enthusiastic and encouraging instructor, my instructor, John Falstrom.

Bob - Illinois
THE book for bass theory! (8/11/2013)
This is probably the most comprehensive book on music theory as applied to the bass on the market right now. It's all here: scale patterns, arpeggios, chord and key relationships. One of the things that distinguishes this book from it's competitors is Mr. Falstrom's treatment of the modes. Many books will merely present them as a anachronistic curiosity, and not a word on how to use them. Not so this one! Falstrom gives us a full explanation of their relationship to the chords in the scale, how to use them both for improvisation and more pedestrian bass accompaniments. When you've finished digesting all that information, you'll wonder how you ever played without it! Another thing I liked about the book was that it includes a wealth of practical multi-octave scale patterns specifically for the bass. In most books I've seen, the bass scales were mostly retreads of guitar patterns, one octave patterns across 3 or 4 strings in one position. This one shows you the patterns and appropriate shifts for playing scales in several octaves, up an down the neck. Although it is not primarily a technique book, it also includes a number of practice patterns to help you get all those new scales up to speed. All in all, this book has a wealth of information I've never seen elsewhere, and explained a lot of things I've seen (heard?) used in music, but didn't understand the rationale behind.

Scott - Illinois
A Keeper (1/21/2012)
Excellent, concise, user friendly book for all ages and abilities. My son is a senior in college and has used it since 7th grade. My 12 year old daughter is now using it too. Universally speaking...I strongly recomend this book to bass guitar students around the world.

Belinda - Illinois/USA
great (1/4/2012)
Best all around BASS book.from beginner onward.
a definite MUST HAVE BOOK.

glen - illinois
Must use book (10/29/2010)
EADG4 is a must use book for beginning and intermediate bass players.

Vladimir - Macedonia
EADG4 (8/30/2010)
I've Actually taken lessons from John.. and Bought the book before it was published officially. I reference the book over and over

Marty - Hobart, IN
a must have in every bassist's arsenal of learning material! (1/6/2005)
I had been searching for a method that would allow me to understand the theory of bass guitar and apply them. Your text has done an exemplary job of it! Many theory books are dry and difficult to understand your book is a breakthrough allowing for ease of understanding and application!

I would highly recommend 'EADG 4' Theory Textbook For The Bass Guitar to all bassists from Beginner to Pro! The text is superbly formatted in an easy to read style providing invaluable information for bassists of all levels and all styles! The principals of theory are easy to understand and apply thanks to your text!

This text is definitely a must have in every bassist's arsenal of learning material! Thank you for taking the time in composing such an invaluable learning tool!

Jean - USA

eadg 4 (5/26/2004)
Everyone who plays bass
should buy this book


mark - IL USA
one of the best (8/5/2003)
This is the most complete and comprehensive bass book I have bought. GREAT!!!!!

Jose - Puerto Rico
The Bible of Bass Theory. (6/21/2003)
I teach bass lessons and this book is all I use for the theory portion of my lessons. It is one of those books you read as a reference and each time you go back you find something new. Great book a must have!!! I tell my students before they buy additional bass equipment they must by this book first.

Jay - North Carolina/USA
Great reference book (5/31/2003)
I have purchased many many bass books, and this by far is the most valuable book I'ver purchased.

Al - Canada
Reviews of EADG 4 (12/1/2002)

'We really like your book. We think you have done a great job with it.' - BassBooks.com 8/18/02

'Rated ***** Five out of Five Hearts' - BunnyBass

'This is a very informative book. It got me back to the basics and beyond. Thanks.' - Ron Griffith (Bass player for The Lively Ones who's single Surfrider was used in the movie Pulp Fiction.) 3/21/01

'EADG 4 by John Falstrom is a bass theory method that is very helpful in gaining scalar and chordal insights into the bass guitar. The book is set up in 4 sections beginning with scales and eventually taking you into a myriad of useful patterns that all bassists will find both musical and challenging' - David C. Gross, Bassics Magazine, Vol. IV, No. 1, 1994

John Falstrom - USA

  • 1

  • IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    GROOVING WITH HYBRID TECHNIQUES
    GROOVING WITH
    HYBRID TECHNIQUES

    Enrico Galeta's great book/CD package helps any player refine key techniques. And now, for a limited time, get a free copy of Enrico's "48 Hour Odyssey" CD with your book purchase.

    BOOKSELLER'S CHOICE

    GROOVING WITH HYBRID TECHNIQUES
    GROOVING
    WITH HYBRID
    TECHNIQUES

    THE FOUR-FRET CONCEPT
    THE FOUR-FRET
    CONCEPT

    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    SLAP IT!
    SLAP IT!
    Also:
    -ONLINE COURSE-
    THE BASSIST's GUIDE TO INJURY MANAGEMENT
    THE BASSIST'S GUIDE
    TO INJURY
    MANAGEMENT
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    BASS ENCYCLOMEDIA
    BASS
    ENCYCLOMEDIA
    BASS TAB WHITE PAGES
    BASS TAB
    WHITE PAGES
    (200 songs!)



    CHUCK RAINEY'S
    COMPLETE
    ELECTRIC
    BASS PLAYER


    LEFT-HANDED
    BASS TAB
    METHOD

    SANTANA'S
    GREATEST HITS
    2+2=5
    A STUDY IN
    ODD TIMES

    THE LATIN
    BASS BOOK


    THE REAL EASY
    EAR TRAINING
    BOOK

    ADVANCED
    STUDIES FOR
    BASS GUITAR

    CLASSIC FUNK
    AND R&B
    GROOVES
    FOR BASS

    BASS
    FRETBOARD
    FACTS

    BEST OF
    MARCUS MILLER


    ARPEGGIO
    WOODSHEDDING
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    PINO PALLADINO:
    BASS TRANSCRIPTIONS
    -EBOOK/PDF-
    THE BEST OF
    YES FOR BASS
    JAMES BROWN:
    BASS PLAY-ALONG

    MILES DAVIS:
    KIND OF BLUE
    STEVE BAILEY'S
    FRETLESS BASS

    THE MOST
    BEAUTIFUL HYMNS
    -EBOOK/PDF-


    DIY ELECTRIC
    BASS
    THE JOHN ENTWISTLE BASS BOOK
    THE
    JOHN ENTWISTLE
    BASS BOOK
    THE EVOLVING BASSIST
    THE EVOLVING
    BASSIST:
    MILLENIUM
    EDITION

    EADG 4
    EADG 4
    BACH CELLO SUITES FOR ELECTRIC GUITAR
    BACH CELLO
    SUITES FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS

    FRETBOARD ARCANUM
    FRETBOARD
    ARCANUM
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    JACO: THE DOCUMENTARY
    JACO: THE
    DOCUMENTARY
    -DVD-

    -BLU-RAY-
    BERRY OAKLEY
    BASS
    TRANSCRIPTIONS
    -EBOOK/PDF-


    HEARING
    BASS LINES,
    COMPLETE
    BUNDLE
    -EBOOK/PDF-

    RICKENBACKER
    ELECTRIC BASS


    HOFNER VIOLIN
    BEATLE BASS
    BASS
    BIBLE
    THE SWING OF
    THE LATIN BASS

    EXPOSED:
    SOLO MUSIC
    FOR BASS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    THE BEST OF
    MEGADETH
    TODD JOHNSON
    ELECTRIC BASS
    TECHNIQUE
    BUILDERS


    THE COUCH
    POTATO BASS
    WORKOUT
    ABBEY ROAD
    TO
    ZIGGY STARDUST
    NATHAN EAST:
    THE BUSINESS
    OF BASS
    -DVD-


    GUNS N' ROSES
    FOR BASS

    CHARLIE PARKER
    FOR BASS

    CRACKING THE
    DETROIT CODE
    -ONLINE COURSE-


    SIGHT READING
    FOR THE BASS
    25 ESSENTIAL
    ROCK BASS
    CLASSICS


    NIRVANA:
    THE BASS GUITAR
    COLLECTION

    BASS PLAYER:
    THE
    FRETLESS BASS


    THE REAL BOOK
    VOL. 1
    BASS CLEF
    JACO
    PASTORIUS
    THE BEST OF
    VICTOR WOOTEN

    WALKING BASSLINES
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    BEYOND
    BASSLINES: FROM
    BACH TO BRAHMS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    THE BEATLES:
    1967-1970


    STANLEY CLARKE
    COLLECTION

    101 BASS TIPS
    SLAP BASS LINES

    RED HOT
    CHILI PEPPERS:
    GREATEST HITS


    BUNNY BRUNEL'S
    POWER BASS:
    SOLOING SECRETS
    100 BLUES
    LESSONS
    100 JAZZ
    LESSONS

    100 ROCK
    LESSONS


    100 FUNK/R&B
    LESSONS
    AFRO-CUBAN
    SLAP BASS LINES
    BEST OF
    TOWER OF POWER
    FOR BASS

    BASS
    STANDARDS
    BERKLEE PRACTICE
    METHOD: BASS

    THE SCOTT
    LAFARO BOOK


    HOW THE
    FENDER BASS
    CHANGED
    THE WORLD


    KEITH
    FERGUSON:
    TEXAS BLUES
    BASS
    EDLY'S MUSIC
    THEORY FOR
    PRACTICAL
    PEOPLE


    ESSSENTIAL
    STYLES FOR
    THE DRUMMER
    AND BASSIST,
    BOOK ONE
    ESSENTIAL
    STYLES FOR
    THE DRUMMER
    AND BASSIST,
    BOOK TWO

    MOTOWN
    BASS CLASSICS
    OTEIL
    BURBRIDGE
    -DVD-


    SIGHT READING FUNK RYTHMNS FOR BASS
    SIGHT READING
    FUNK RHYTHMS
    STANDING IN THE SHADOWS OF MOTOWN
    STANDING IN
    THE SHADOWS
    OF MOTOWN


    CLASSICAL MASTERPIECES FOR ELECTRIC BASS, VOL. 1
    CLASSICAL
    MASTERPIECES
    FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS
    VOL. I
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    CLASSICAL MASTERPIECES FOR ELECTRIC BASS, VOL. 2
    CLASSICAL
    MASTERPIECES
    FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS
    VOL. II
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    STEVE HARRIS: THE BEAST OF THE BASS
    STEVE HARRIS:
    THE BEAST OF
    THE BASS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    FRETBOARD ALCHEMY
    FRETBOARD
    ALCHEMY
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    SEARCH

    IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    ESSENTIAL GROOVES
    ESSENTIAL GROOVES
    For Writing, Performing and Producing Contemporary Music: This comprehensive book/CD/DVD package pulls together everything you need to know about the important styles that have influenced contemporary music. 41 different grooves, with multi-track audio.

    GETTING STARTED

    Just learning your way around the bass? We'll start you right.

    Click here to see all our Beginners titles.

    PLAY BASS TODAY
    PLAY BASS TODAY
    Teach yourself to play bass guitar at your own pace. Includes CD with instruction and backing tracks.

    BEGINNING ELECTRIC BASS
    BEGINNING
    ELECTRIC BASS
    Part one of a three-part series, this book introduces music theory, scales and chords. Learn to build cool bass lines.

    BASS METHOD BOOK 1
    BASS METHOD
    BOOK ONE
    A classic of bass instruction presenting notes, patterns, rhythms and over 100 songs and riffs. Includes audio CD.

    BASS FOR BEGINNERS
    BASS FOR
    BEGINNERS
    This fine book/CD package provides the basic tools for solid, fundamental electric bass playing.

    Click here to see all our Beginners titles.

    IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    CHORDS AND CHORD SHAPES FOR BASS GUITAR
    CHORDS AND
    CHORD SHAPES
    FOR
    BASS GUITAR
    -EBOOK/PDF-
    A highly ambitious ebook of fretboard charts, showing chords in all keys and forms. Indispensable!

    GIVE THE GIFT OF MUSIC

    A Gift Certificate from BassBooks.com is easy and thoughtful. Let friends and family pick the titles they want, while you help them grow as musicians.

    Click here for Gift Certificates

    QUOTE -- UNQUOTE

    "Music is in the air. It's my job to pull it out."
    --Jaco Pastorius

    "I try to make sure my part is notable -- that it's not only right for the song, but also represents the bass in the highest light."
    --Nathan East

    "The art of music is governed by the laws of harmony, theory and rhythm. These laws and theories must be studied in order to attain and maintain precious, unforseen rewards."
    --Chuck Rainey

    "Even when playing the simplest song with just whole notes, make sure that they're very good whole notes!"
    --Larry Paxton

    "It's the bass that makes them dance."
    --Darcy Wright

    "Guitar is for the head, drums are for the chest, but bass gets you in the groin."
    --Suzi Quatro

    EBOOKS

    Save time and money (and reduce your carbon footprint!). Order books and transcriptions in easy-to-download PDF form. Read them on a desktop, laptop, phone or tablet, and print out pages as you wish.

    Click here to check out our full list of EBOOKS (over 160 titles)

    Click here for EBOOK download info and instructions

    OUR NEWSLETTER

    Sign up for our newsletter, THE LOWDOWN, and get the word on new products and happenings.


    Preferred Email Format:

    SEARCH

    LET'S GET SOCIAL


    Facebook Twitter

    LISTEN AND SHOP

    Click on the BassPod to enjoy bass solos and bass-heavy songs.

    BUY MORE AND SAVE

    We offer discounts based on the number of titles purchased in a single order. You will see the discounts automatically applied during checkout.
    3-5
    5% off
    6-9
    10% off
    10 or more
    15% off
    PLEASE NOTE:
    Discounts apply to merchandise only, not shipping fees.




    Perfect Pitch Ear Training Course





    A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
    0 Item(s)
    US$0.00