Welcome, Guest ( Login )

Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

Not for short-fingered bassists (2/16/2014)
The patterns presented are easy enough to understand, but almost impossible to pull off if one's fingers are too short. The scales listed are killer on my fretting hand, with a slight rearrangement making them easier to pull off without constant repositioning. No amount of stretching will make fingers longer; sorry, that's reality.
I plan on using this book sparingly, only to figure out where to start scales on the B and C strings of my 6-string bass.
If you plan on playing only a 4-string bass, there are other, much cheaper, scale books available on the market that will work just as well as this one.

Rick - Missouri
CAVEAT EMPTOR!! (11/15/2007)
This is a fine, fine book by Mr. Hubbell; but for an intermediate bassist who has a firm foundation of fingerings that ARE NOT extended!! For a rookie like myself, I''m still glad I bought it, it''s an excellent resource, but I shoulda waited before purchasing. EXCELLENT BOOK, however....in spite of my lack of experience!

Joseph - Kansas City, Missouri
It's Just Alright (4/26/2007)
I bought this book partly because of the gushing reviews found here. Be careful. This book is not an improvisational panacea; it's a reference book, plain and simple. I'm not sure what to make of the suggested scale fingerings either. In my opinion they seem more appropriate for guitar than bass. I think I'll stick with Rufus Reid's The Evolving Bassist for now.

Anthony - US
THE ROSETA STONE TO IMPROV (1/29/2007)
great book! Use it with his next volume and also Adam Raffety's ' How to create single jazz line (adam@touchofjazz.com) and 'joy of improve' volume one and two by Dave Frank and you ALMOST do not need a teacher to make i to the summit

Ronald - Boston Mass.
Great Stuff a must have for the self taught bassist. (12/4/2006)
As a professional self taught bassist I really find it hard to be shown anything I haven't thought of my self, or by stumbled across. This book on the other hand has filled in so many gaps I didn,t realise I had that I'm a bit pissed off. Most of the fun for me was disovering thing's for myself.
This is one book I'm not letting go of. I also bought FRETBOARD ARCANUM. I haven't started on it yet as I'm having so much fun with FRETBOARD ALCHEMY. I'll probabally open it on Chistmas mornig as a treat for myself. I can hardly wait.
Thanks to you Scott and the guitarist that opend it all up for you to share with the rest of us.
Self(Scott)taught bassist Michael.

Michael - Holland
One thing made perfectly clear..... (6/22/2006)
...by this approach of Mr. Hubbell's: I MUST PRACTICE THE MODES ALL OVER AGAIN. It's back to Page One in this excellent book for me, and I'm loving it!

Joseph - Kansas City, Missouri
One of the greatest!!!! (6/18/2006)
I loved this book. Ive never seen a book so easy to understand, that could cover such important material. It not only explains the scales and modes, including great illustrations, but the author gives tips and explains in theory. I highly recommend this book. I gave a 4 because I bought the PDF version, and it has small parts that cannot be seen completely, like the chord symbols and the fret where the chord should be played. I understand the printed version does should not have this problem.

Jose Aponte - Caguas, PR
Great book! (5/8/2006)
Great book, written by a great guy to make you a great bass player!

Bought the bok many months ago and find that what you get is exactly what you need to expand your horizons.

Scott is also very easy to get in touch with, and very interested in helping anyone reagrding his book...the problem is, it is so well written that you don't have any questions when you read it!!


Christian - Quebec, Canada
favorite (3/14/2006)
this is one of my favorite books to learn from AND to teach from!

Gregory - Montana
Fretboard Alchemy for 4,5, and 6-String Bass (4/26/2003)
As a college jazz professor and bass player, this book is now an official pre-requisite for all new bassist entering my classroom. Skeeter Boyle

Skeeter - Seattle/ USA
FRETBOARD ALCHEMY FOR 4, 5, AND 6-STRING BASS (4/9/2003)
Great book by a great bass player! It's the definitive book on fretboard fingerings, extended and diagonal. This is a must have for all bass players from 4 strings to 6 strings. It is my first choice reference resource!

Byron Santo - LA, USA
  • 1

  • IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    GROOVING WITH HYBRID TECHNIQUES
    GROOVING WITH
    HYBRID TECHNIQUES


    Reviewing GROOVING WITH HYBRID TECHNIQUES, Bass Player magazine asks, "Ready to refine your various techniques and bring them all together for something original?" A really great book.

    BOOKSELLER'S CHOICE

    BASS ENCYCLOMEDIA
    BASS
    ENCYCLOMEDIA

    THE SWING OF THE LATIN BASS
    THE SWING OF
    THE LATIN BASS

    EXPOSED: SOLO MUSIC FOR BASS
    EXPOSED:
    SOLO MUSIC FOR
    UNACCOMPANIED
    ELECTRIC BASS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    THE FOUR-FRET CONCEPT
    THE FOUR-FRET
    CONCEPT
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    THE MOST BEAUTIFUL HYMNS
    THE MOST
    BEAUTIFUL HYMNS
    -EBOOK/PDF-


    DIY ELECTRIC BASS
    DIY ELECTRIC
    BASS
    CRACKING THE DETROIT CODE
    CRACKING THE
    DETROIT CODE
    -ONLINE COURSE-


    SIGHT READING FOR THE BASS
    SIGHT READING
    FOR THE BASS
    BERRY OAKLEY BASS TRANSCRIPTIONS
    BERRY OAKLEY
    BASS
    TRANSCRIPTIONS
    -EBOOK/PDF-


    HEARING BASS LINES
    HEARING
    BASS LINES,
    COMPLETE
    BUNDLE
    -EBOOK/PDF-

    THE RICKENBACKER ELECTRIC BASS
    RICKENBACKER
    ELECTRIC BASS


    HOFNER BEATLE BASS
    HOFNER VIOLIN
    BEATLE BASS

    THE BEST OF YES FOR BASS
    THE BEST OF
    YES FOR BASS

    JAMES BROWN: BASS PLAY-ALONG
    JAMES BROWN:
    BASS PLAY-ALONG
    MILES DAVIS: KIND OF BLUE
    MILES DAVIS:
    KIND OF BLUE

    STEVE BAILEY'S FRETLESS BASS
    STEVE BAILEY'S
    FRETLESS BASS
    TODD JOHNSON ELECTRIC BASS TECHNIQUE BUILDERS
    TODD JOHNSON
    ELECTRIC BASS
    TECHNIQUE
    BUILDERS


    THE COUCH POTATO BASS WORKOUT
    THE COUCH
    POTATO BASS
    WORKOUT
    ABBEY ROAD TO ZIGGY STARDUST
    ABBEY ROAD
    TO
    ZIGGY STARDUST

    NATHAN EAST: THE BUSINESS OF BASS
    NATHAN EAST:
    THE BUSINESS
    OF BASS
    -DVD-


    THE JOHN ENTWISTLE BASS BOOK
    THE
    JOHN ENTWISTLE
    BASS BOOK

    ADVANCED STUDIES FOR BASS GUITAR
    ADVANCED
    STUDIES FOR
    BASS GUITAR

    SLAP IT!
    SLAP IT!
    -ONLINE COURSE-

    MOTOWN BASS CLASSICS
    MOTOWN
    BASS CLASSICS
    GUNS N' ROSES FOR BASS
    GUNS N' ROSES
    FOR BASS
    CHARLIE PARKER FOR BASS
    CHARLIE PARKER
    FOR BASS

    GROOVE 101
    GROOVE 101
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    MUSICIANSHIP FOR THE CONTEMPORARY BASSIST
    MUSICIANSHIP
    FOR THE
    CONTEMPORARY
    BASSIST

    SLAP 101
    SLAP 101
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    INDIAN BASS: 72 RAGAS
    INDIAN BASS:
    72 RAGAS
    -EBOOK/PDF-


    TECHNIQUE 101
    TECHNIQUE 101
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    BEGINNING FUNK BASS
    BEGINNING
    FUNK BASS
    -DVD-

    25 ESSENTIAL ROCK BASS CLASSICS
    25 ESSENTIAL
    ROCK BASS
    CLASSICS

    NIRVANA: THE BASS GUITAR COLLECTION
    NIRVANA:
    THE BASS GUITAR
    COLLECTION
    JACO PASTORIUS
    JACO
    PASTORIUS

    THE BEST OF VICTOR WOOTEN
    THE BEST OF
    VICTOR WOOTEN

    WALKING BASSLINES
    WALKING BASSLINES
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    BEYOND BASSLINES: FROM BACK TO BRAHMS
    BEYOND
    BASSLINES: FROM
    BACH TO BRAHMS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION

    THE BEATLES: 1967-1970
    THE BEATLES:
    1967-1970


    STANLEY CLARKE COLLECTION
    STANLEY CLARKE
    COLLECTION
    EADG 4
    EADG 4

    BACH CELLO SUITES FOR ELECTRIC GUITAR
    BACH CELLO
    SUITES FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS

    101 BASS TIPS
    101 BASS TIPS

    SLAP BASS LINES
    SLAP BASS LINES
    RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS -- GREATEST HITS
    RED HOT
    CHILI PEPPERS:
    GREATEST HITS


    BUNNY BRUNEL'S POWER BASS: SOLOING SECRETS
    BUNNY BRUNEL'S
    POWER BASS:
    SOLOING SECRETS

    100 BLUES LESSONS
    100 BLUES
    LESSONS

    100JAZZ LESSONS
    100 JAZZ
    LESSONS

    100 ROCK LESSONS
    100 ROCK
    LESSONS


    100 FUNK/R&B LESSONS
    100 FUNK/R&B
    LESSONS

    AFRO-CUBAN SLAP BASS LINES
    AFRO-CUBAN
    SLAP BASS LINES

    BASS TAB WHITE PAGES
    BASS TAB
    WHITE PAGES

    BASS STANDARDS
    BASS
    STANDARDS

    BERKLEE PRACTICE METHOD: BASS
    BERKLEE PRACTICE
    METHOD: BASS
    MAMBOS FOR THE SALSA AND LATIN JAZZ HORN SECTION
    MAMBOS FOR
    THE SALSA AND
    LATIN JAZZ
    HORN SECTION
    -EBOOK/PDF-


    THE BASSIST's GUIDE TO INJURY MANAGEMENT
    THE BASSIST'S GUIDE
    TO INJURY
    MANAGEMENT
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    SIGHT READING FUNK RHYTHMS
    SIGHT READING
    FUNK RHYTHMS

    OTEIL BURBRIDGE
    OTEIL
    BURBRIDGE
    -DVD-


    CLASSICAL MASTERPIECES FOR ELECTRIC BASS, VOL I
    CLASSICAL
    MASTERPIECES
    FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS
    VOL. I
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    CLASSICAL MASTERPIECES FOR ELECTRIC BASS, VOL II
    CLASSICAL
    MASTERPIECES
    FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS
    VOL. II
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    THE SCOTT LAFARO BOOK
    THE SCOTT
    LAFARO BOOK


    HOW THE FENDER BASS CHANGED THE WORLD
    HOW THE
    FENDER BASS
    CHANGED
    THE WORLD


    STEVE HARRIS: THE BEAST OF THE BASS
    STEVE HARRIS:
    THE BEAST OF
    THE BASS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    FRETBOARD ALCHEMY
    FRETBOARD
    ALCHEMY
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    KEITH FERGUSON: TEXAS BLUES BASS
    KEITH
    FERGUSON:
    TEXAS BLUES
    BASS
    EDLY'S MUSIC THEORY FOR PRACTICAL PEOPLE
    EDLY'S MUSIC
    THEORY FOR
    PRACTICAL
    PEOPLE


    ESSENTIAL STYLES FOR THE DRUMMER AND BASSIST, BOOK ONE
    ESSSENTIAL
    STYLES FOR
    THE DRUMMER
    AND BASSIST,
    BOOK ONE

    ESSENTIAL STYLES FOR THE DRUMMER AND BASSIST, BOOK TWO
    ESSENTIAL
    STYLES FOR
    THE DRUMMER
    AND BASSIST,
    BOOK TWO
    KEY RETENTION BUILDER
    KEY RETENTION
    BUILDER


    JAZZ MUSICIAN'S GUIDE
    JAZZ MUSICIAN'S
    GUIDE TO
    CREATIVE
    PRACTICING

    THE FUNKMASTERS
    THE FUNKMASTERS:
    THE GREAT
    JAMES BROWN
    RHYTHM SECTIONS

    MUY CALIENTE!
    MUY CALIENTE!
    AFRO-CUBAN
    PLAY-ALONG

    THE FINGER FUNK WORKBOOK, VOL 1
    THE FINGER
    FUNK WORKBOOK,
    VOL. 1


    SLAM STEWART
    SLAM STEWART:
    134 ARCO SOLOS
    FOR THE
    DOUBLE BASS

    CONCEPTS FOR BASS SOLOING
    CONCEPTS
    FOR BASS
    SOLOING
    JAMIROQUAI BASS BOOK
    THE JAMIROQUAI
    BASS BOOK

    QUOTE -- UNQUOTE

    "The worst thing I could be thinking is how could I be a cool bass player."
    --Mike Gordon

    "It's the bass that makes them dance."
    --Darcy Wright

    "Guitar is for the head, drums are for the chest, but bass gets you in the groin."
    --Suzi Quatro

    "Learn to read your ass off. Seriously. There's no upside to being uninformed."
    --Stu Hamm

    "Black Sabbath was written on bass. I just walked into the studio and went, bah, bah, bah, and everybody joined in and we just did it."
    --Geezer Butler

    EBOOKS

    Save time and money (and reduce your carbon footprint!). Order books and transcriptions in easy-to-download PDF form. Read them on a desktop, laptop, phone or tablet, and print out pages as you wish.

    Click here to check out our full list of EBOOKS (over 160 titles)

    Click here for EBOOK download info and instructions

    OUR NEWSLETTER

    Sign up for our newsletter, THE MONTHLY LOWDOWN, and get the word on new products and happenings.


    Preferred Email Format:

    SEARCH

    LET'S GET SOCIAL


    Facebook Twitter
    Perfect Pitch Ear Training Course

    REALLY Learn Bass Guitar!

    SEARCH

    A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
    0 Item(s)
    US$0.00