Welcome, Guest ( Login )

Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

Not for short-fingered bassists (2/16/2014)
The patterns presented are easy enough to understand, but almost impossible to pull off if one's fingers are too short. The scales listed are killer on my fretting hand, with a slight rearrangement making them easier to pull off without constant repositioning. No amount of stretching will make fingers longer; sorry, that's reality.
I plan on using this book sparingly, only to figure out where to start scales on the B and C strings of my 6-string bass.
If you plan on playing only a 4-string bass, there are other, much cheaper, scale books available on the market that will work just as well as this one.

Rick - Missouri
CAVEAT EMPTOR!! (11/15/2007)
This is a fine, fine book by Mr. Hubbell; but for an intermediate bassist who has a firm foundation of fingerings that ARE NOT extended!! For a rookie like myself, I''m still glad I bought it, it''s an excellent resource, but I shoulda waited before purchasing. EXCELLENT BOOK, however....in spite of my lack of experience!

Joseph - Kansas City, Missouri
It's Just Alright (4/26/2007)
I bought this book partly because of the gushing reviews found here. Be careful. This book is not an improvisational panacea; it's a reference book, plain and simple. I'm not sure what to make of the suggested scale fingerings either. In my opinion they seem more appropriate for guitar than bass. I think I'll stick with Rufus Reid's The Evolving Bassist for now.

Anthony - US
THE ROSETA STONE TO IMPROV (1/29/2007)
great book! Use it with his next volume and also Adam Raffety's ' How to create single jazz line (adam@touchofjazz.com) and 'joy of improve' volume one and two by Dave Frank and you ALMOST do not need a teacher to make i to the summit

Ronald - Boston Mass.
Great Stuff a must have for the self taught bassist. (12/4/2006)
As a professional self taught bassist I really find it hard to be shown anything I haven't thought of my self, or by stumbled across. This book on the other hand has filled in so many gaps I didn,t realise I had that I'm a bit pissed off. Most of the fun for me was disovering thing's for myself.
This is one book I'm not letting go of. I also bought FRETBOARD ARCANUM. I haven't started on it yet as I'm having so much fun with FRETBOARD ALCHEMY. I'll probabally open it on Chistmas mornig as a treat for myself. I can hardly wait.
Thanks to you Scott and the guitarist that opend it all up for you to share with the rest of us.
Self(Scott)taught bassist Michael.

Michael - Holland
One thing made perfectly clear..... (6/22/2006)
...by this approach of Mr. Hubbell's: I MUST PRACTICE THE MODES ALL OVER AGAIN. It's back to Page One in this excellent book for me, and I'm loving it!

Joseph - Kansas City, Missouri
One of the greatest!!!! (6/18/2006)
I loved this book. Ive never seen a book so easy to understand, that could cover such important material. It not only explains the scales and modes, including great illustrations, but the author gives tips and explains in theory. I highly recommend this book. I gave a 4 because I bought the PDF version, and it has small parts that cannot be seen completely, like the chord symbols and the fret where the chord should be played. I understand the printed version does should not have this problem.

Jose Aponte - Caguas, PR
Great book! (5/8/2006)
Great book, written by a great guy to make you a great bass player!

Bought the bok many months ago and find that what you get is exactly what you need to expand your horizons.

Scott is also very easy to get in touch with, and very interested in helping anyone reagrding his book...the problem is, it is so well written that you don't have any questions when you read it!!


Christian - Quebec, Canada
favorite (3/14/2006)
this is one of my favorite books to learn from AND to teach from!

Gregory - Montana
Fretboard Alchemy for 4,5, and 6-String Bass (4/26/2003)
As a college jazz professor and bass player, this book is now an official pre-requisite for all new bassist entering my classroom. Skeeter Boyle

Skeeter - Seattle/ USA
FRETBOARD ALCHEMY FOR 4, 5, AND 6-STRING BASS (4/9/2003)
Great book by a great bass player! It's the definitive book on fretboard fingerings, extended and diagonal. This is a must have for all bass players from 4 strings to 6 strings. It is my first choice reference resource!

Byron Santo - LA, USA
  • 1

  • BOOKSELLER'S CHOICE

    GROOVING WITH HYBRID TECHNIQUES
    GROOVING
    WITH HYBRID
    TECHNIQUES

    THE FOUR-FRET CONCEPT
    THE FOUR-FRET
    CONCEPT

    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    SLAP IT!
    SLAP IT!
    Also:
    -ONLINE COURSE-
    THE BASSIST's GUIDE TO INJURY MANAGEMENT
    THE BASSIST'S GUIDE
    TO INJURY
    MANAGEMENT
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    BASS ENCYCLOMEDIA
    BASS
    ENCYCLOMEDIA
    BASS TAB WHITE PAGES
    BASS TAB
    WHITE PAGES
    (200 songs!)



    CHUCK RAINEY'S
    COMPLETE
    ELECTRIC
    BASS PLAYER


    LEFT-HANDED
    BASS TAB
    METHOD

    SANTANA'S
    GREATEST HITS
    2+2=5
    A STUDY IN
    ODD TIMES

    THE LATIN
    BASS BOOK


    THE REAL EASY
    EAR TRAINING
    BOOK

    THE EVOLVING
    BASSIST:
    MILLENIUM
    EDITION
    CLASSIC FUNK
    AND R&B
    GROOVES
    FOR BASS

    BASS
    FRETBOARD
    FACTS

    BEST OF
    MARCUS MILLER


    ARPEGGIO
    WOODSHEDDING
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    PINO PALLADINO:
    BASS TRANSCRIPTIONS
    -EBOOK/PDF-
    THE BEST OF
    YES FOR BASS
    JAMES BROWN:
    BASS PLAY-ALONG

    MILES DAVIS:
    KIND OF BLUE
    STEVE BAILEY'S
    FRETLESS BASS

    THE MOST
    BEAUTIFUL HYMNS
    -EBOOK/PDF-


    DIY ELECTRIC
    BASS
    BERRY OAKLEY
    BASS
    TRANSCRIPTIONS
    -EBOOK/PDF-


    HEARING
    BASS LINES,
    COMPLETE
    BUNDLE
    -EBOOK/PDF-

    RICKENBACKER
    ELECTRIC BASS


    HOFNER VIOLIN
    BEATLE BASS
    BASS
    BIBLE
    THE SWING OF
    THE LATIN BASS

    EXPOSED:
    SOLO MUSIC
    FOR BASS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    THE BEST OF
    MEGADETH
    TODD JOHNSON
    ELECTRIC BASS
    TECHNIQUE
    BUILDERS


    THE COUCH
    POTATO BASS
    WORKOUT
    ABBEY ROAD
    TO
    ZIGGY STARDUST
    NATHAN EAST:
    THE BUSINESS
    OF BASS
    -DVD-


    THE
    JOHN ENTWISTLE
    BASS BOOK
    ADVANCED
    STUDIES FOR
    BASS GUITAR

    GUNS N' ROSES
    FOR BASS

    CHARLIE PARKER
    FOR BASS

    CRACKING THE
    DETROIT CODE
    -ONLINE COURSE-


    SIGHT READING
    FOR THE BASS
    25 ESSENTIAL
    ROCK BASS
    CLASSICS


    NIRVANA:
    THE BASS GUITAR
    COLLECTION
    EADG 4
    EADG 4
    BACH CELLO SUITES FOR ELECTRIC GUITAR
    BACH CELLO
    SUITES FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS

    FRETBOARD ARCANUM
    FRETBOARD
    ARCANUM
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    JACO: THE DOCUMENTARY
    JACO: THE
    DOCUMENTARY
    -DVD-

    -BLU-RAY-

    BASS PLAYER:
    THE
    FRETLESS BASS


    THE REAL BOOK
    VOL. 1
    BASS CLEF
    JACO
    PASTORIUS
    THE BEST OF
    VICTOR WOOTEN

    WALKING BASSLINES
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    BEYOND
    BASSLINES: FROM
    BACH TO BRAHMS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    THE BEATLES:
    1967-1970


    STANLEY CLARKE
    COLLECTION

    101 BASS TIPS
    SLAP BASS LINES

    RED HOT
    CHILI PEPPERS:
    GREATEST HITS


    BUNNY BRUNEL'S
    POWER BASS:
    SOLOING SECRETS
    100 BLUES
    LESSONS
    100 JAZZ
    LESSONS

    100 ROCK
    LESSONS


    100 FUNK/R&B
    LESSONS
    AFRO-CUBAN
    SLAP BASS LINES
    BEST OF
    TOWER OF POWER
    FOR BASS

    BASS
    STANDARDS
    BERKLEE PRACTICE
    METHOD: BASS

    STANDING IN
    THE SHADOWS
    OF MOTOWN


    MOTOWN
    BASS CLASSICS
    SIGHT READING
    FUNK RHYTHMS
    OTEIL
    BURBRIDGE
    -DVD-


    THE SCOTT
    LAFARO BOOK


    HOW THE
    FENDER BASS
    CHANGED
    THE WORLD


    KEITH
    FERGUSON:
    TEXAS BLUES
    BASS
    EDLY'S MUSIC
    THEORY FOR
    PRACTICAL
    PEOPLE


    ESSSENTIAL
    STYLES FOR
    THE DRUMMER
    AND BASSIST,
    BOOK ONE
    ESSENTIAL
    STYLES FOR
    THE DRUMMER
    AND BASSIST,
    BOOK TWO

    CLASSICAL MASTERPIECES FOR ELECTRIC BASS, VOL. 1
    CLASSICAL
    MASTERPIECES
    FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS
    VOL. I
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    CLASSICAL MASTERPIECES FOR ELECTRIC BASS, VOL. 2
    CLASSICAL
    MASTERPIECES
    FOR
    ELECTRIC BASS
    VOL. II
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    STEVE HARRIS: THE BEAST OF THE BASS
    STEVE HARRIS:
    THE BEAST OF
    THE BASS
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    FRETBOARD ALCHEMY
    FRETBOARD
    ALCHEMY
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-

    SEARCH

    IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    BACH 2-PART INVENTIONS
    BACH 2-PART
    INVENTIONS FOR
    4-STRING BASS

    5-STRING BASS
    6-STRING BASS

    Brand new and very cool: Danny Hall has created this set of transcriptions, all 15 of Bach's Two-Part Inventions, arranged for 4-String, 5-String and 6-String bass. Available in both print and ebook formats. The classics are good for you!

    QUOTE -- UNQUOTE

    "I try to make sure my part is notable -- that it's not only right for the song, but also represents the bass in the highest light."
    --Nathan East

    "Even when playing the simplest song with just whole notes, make sure that they're very good whole notes!"
    --Larry Paxton

    "It's the bass that makes them dance."
    --Darcy Wright

    "Guitar is for the head, drums are for the chest, but bass gets you in the groin."
    --Suzi Quatro

    EBOOKS

    Save time and money (and reduce your carbon footprint!). Order books and transcriptions in easy-to-download PDF form. Read them on a desktop, laptop, phone or tablet, and print out pages as you wish.

    Click here to check out our full list of EBOOKS (over 160 titles)

    Click here for EBOOK download info and instructions

    OUR NEWSLETTER

    Sign up for our newsletter, THE MONTHLY LOWDOWN, and get the word on new products and happenings.


    Preferred Email Format:

    SEARCH

    LET'S GET SOCIAL


    Facebook Twitter

    LISTEN AND SHOP

    Click on the BassPod to enjoy bass solos and bass-heavy songs.

    BUY MORE AND SAVE

    We offer discounts based on the number of titles purchased in a single order. You will see the discounts automatically applied during checkout.
    3-5
    5% off
    6-9
    10% off
    10 or more
    15% off
    PLEASE NOTE:
    Discounts apply to merchandise only, not shipping fees.




    Perfect Pitch Ear Training Course





    A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
    0 Item(s)
    US$0.00