Welcome, Guest ( Login )

Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

Excellent, logical bass specific reference book. (1/1/2008)
With this impressive book Mike thoroughly explains all the musical ideas you run across as a bassist - scales, intervals, arpeggios, chords, etc... the list is endless. It is one of the most complete reference books I have ever come across, equally addressing beginners and advanced players alike (although I think that it can be somewhat overwhelming to absolute beginners due to the huge information flood). The strength of Bass EncycloMedia lies in it''s timeless topics, meaning you can look up a topic when you want to learn more about it (or need information about it), rather than trying to study the entire book in one sitting. An excellent and logical bass specific reference book. 5 Stars!

Nick - Boston
Innovative Thinking (5/1/2007)
'Bass EncycloMedia is one of the most informative music text books that I’ve ever come across. Being a former educator, I’ve seen and used books that were very boring and non-interactive. 12 Tone Music materials are different, they are very practical, exciting and fun. With them the student will learn much more than the instrument itself, they will learn the relation of the instrument to the theory. I commend you on your innovative thinking.' - Two time Na Hoku Hanohano Award winner and Don Ho bass player for 15 years.

Nathan - Hawaii, USA
A most profound revelation! (5/19/2006)
'Bass EncycloMedia is a most profound revelation! I am certain that this book - written with cool analysis and prophetic vision - will have a most significant effect on any player who studies it. It is an important contribution to those thinking bass.' -
Marshall 'Rock' Jones - Mega Bass Master for the Ohio Players.

Marshall 'Rock' Jones - n/a
A Most Profound Revelation! (5/19/2006)
“Bass EncycloMedia is a most profound revelation! I am certain that this book - written with cool analysis and prophetic vision - will have a most significant effect on any player who studies it. It is an important contribution to those thinking bass.' - Marshall “Rock” Jones - Ohio Players

Marshall - California USA
Enlightened Student (5/19/2005)
Thanks to the simplistic explinations to many imfamous music queries presented in this book, my understanding of music theory has extensively broadened. Mike has figured out many vital truths about music that are neglected, and many alternative teaching methods to clarify confusing theory 'mumbo- jumbo'. Any one truely serious aboout learning their instrument, the bass, will check out this inventive groud breaking book.

Philip - Ohio
Finally Visual Bass Theory & Application. (4/30/2005)
I have played bass for almost 30 years. I'm also a private bass guitar instructor. Finally someone has written a book that is visual. Not only explaining in text but with diagrams. Most students I teach are visual learner's. They need to see it as well as hear it. I have found a new way to reach my students using this book. I also recommend to my serious students to get this book. Mike has done a wonderful job of presenting bass theory and making it easy to understand and apply to real playing situations. This book will fill in the gaps of questions you have with other method books.

Jay - North Caroline USA
I have yet too find a better bass book (4/14/2005)
I've been playing Bass Guitar for 20 years now. I have yet too find a better bass book than 'BassEncyclomedia' . It is truely the best bass book for beginners & advanced bassist alike. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to start, or advance in the bass guitar world.

Carlos Miller - Ohio
This is a great addition to the library of every bass player - I am very impressed! (4/3/2005)
"As a professional bass player for over 30 years, I didn't think I had much to learn from Bass EncycloMedia. Boy, was I wrong! This book is filled with practical and highly musical techniques and information that will benefit bass players of any style and ability level, especially those who have passed beyond the "beginner" stage. The BEM is written the way most bass players think.....visually instead of in notation. This is a great addition to the library of every bass player - I am very impressed! "
- Dr. Robert A. Cutietta, Dean - The Thornton School of Music - The University of Southern California

Robert - CA
  • 1

  • BASS IN THE TIME OF CORONAVIRUS

    HOME PLAYER

    NOTICE: Due to COVID-19, mail service in general may be delayed, and it has been temporarily suspended to many overseas destinations. Click here to see a list of affected countries.

    Musicians are not good social distancers. Performers, teachers, students, garage jammers, fans of live music -- getting together is what we do.

    But we have to be careful for a while yet. To control the spread of the coronavirus and protect our loved ones and communities, we have to spend more time at home, and less gathering with crowds.

    Do something useful with this downtime. Pick up your instrument. Noodle on a riff. Learn a new song. Explore some new techniques. Study the style of a favorite player.

    BassBooks.com is operating as normally as possible, to keep you in books and music. Our suppliers' warehouse and shipping facilities could be impacted, as could deliveries by the US Postal Service and UPS. Of course, our EBOOK downloads will always be available, quickly and contact-free!

    Stay healthy.

    IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    SLAP IT!
    SLAP IT!
    Also check out the
    ONLINE COURSE

    Tony Oppenheim's SLAP IT! will give rookies the right start and help pros refine their touch. Audio tracks included.

    The ONLINE COURSE is a lifetime subscription that accesses more exercises and lessons. Like Volume 2 of SLAP IT!

    EBOOKS

    Save time and money (and reduce your carbon footprint!). Order books and transcriptions in easy-to-download PDF form. Read them on a desktop, laptop, phone or tablet, and print out pages as you wish.

    Click here to check out our full list of EBOOKS (over 160 titles)

    Click here for EBOOK download info and instructions

    OUR NEWSLETTER

    Sign up for our newsletter, THE LOWDOWN, and get the word on new products and happenings.


    Preferred Email Format:


    Your email address will be securely stored by MailChimp, our e-newsletter processor, and will never be shared with anyone, for any reason, period.

    View the current issue of
    THE LOWDOWN
    .

    BUY MORE AND SAVE

    We offer discounts based on the number of titles purchased in a single order. You will see the discounts automatically applied during checkout.
    3-5
    5% off
    6-9
    10% off
    10 or more
    15% off
    PLEASE NOTE:
    Discounts apply to merchandise only, not shipping fees.

    IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    ESSENTIAL SIGHTREADING STUDIES FOR BASS, 3 Vol. set
    ESSENTIAL
    SIGHTREADING
    STUDIES FOR BASS
    3-VOLUME SET
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    These three books from David Motto make up one of the great sightreading resources of all time. Available singly or as a set, in print or ebook form, with accompanying audio.

    GETTING STARTED

    Just learning your way around the bass? We'll start you right.

    Click here to see all our Beginners titles.

    PLAY BASS TODAY
    PLAY BASS TODAY
    Teach yourself to play bass guitar at your own pace. Includes CD with instruction and backing tracks.

    BEGINNING ELECTRIC BASS
    BEGINNING
    ELECTRIC BASS
    Part one of a three-part series, this book introduces music theory, scales and chords. Learn to build cool bass lines.

    Click here to see all our Beginners titles.

    LET'S GET SOCIAL


    Facebook Twitter




    Perfect Pitch Ear Training Course





    A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
    0 Item(s)
    US$0.00