Welcome, Guest ( Login )

Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

Very Helpful (8/5/2011)
You get a topic explained on about a page, then you get one or more pages of exercise, then another page with new topics, then the exercises again and so on.
It builds up slow and nice.

Marc - Munich
Should have a CD (5/23/2011)
I bought this book a few months ago and it has helped me alot. However, I do think it should have an accompanying CD or a link to a web site with recordings of the exercises that alows you to hear what a piece "should" sound like. Particularly the more complicated ones in the book. As it is now you just have to hope you are getting it exactly right. Otherwise I still recommend it for those wanting to improve their skills.

Bob - Georgia
Sight Reading (1/22/2007)
I'm a full time music teacher and this is the best book for students I have ever run across.
I ususlly use a Mel Bay book for the first 17 pages then switch to Rons' excelent text.

Larry - the great state of new jersey
Sight Reading (1/22/2007)
I'm a full time music teacher and this is the best book for students I have ever run across.
I ususlly use a Mel Bay book for the first 17 pages then switcg to Rons' excelent text.

Larry - the great state of new jersey
I love the difficulty progression ! (11/25/2005)
I bought this book a few weeks ago and i am not disapointed! I use to play guitar but when my church needed a bass player, i bought a new bass (no complaints there!) and this book. The thing i like the most about it is that the level of difficulty progresses in good steps: not too much at a time and not too little. It keeps a good challenge but does not get out of reach from one exercise to the next, very natural progress!

Christian - Canada
Good book (10/12/2005)
Starts simple advances to intermediate. Mainly stays in upper neck region. Good book for starting out reading.

Anthony - MO
Great Book (6/17/2004)
This is a really a helpful book.
It puts you to read right away and makes you want to continue...
Exelent book... buy it, you wont regret it!

Nathan - Puerto Rico
SIGHT READING FOR THE BASS (6/23/2003)
Wonderful book. Takes the mystery out of music and lets a beginner begin reading right away. Very informative and thought out and EASY to follow. I feel lucky to have found it. Recommended.

Rodney - Southern California
Review from “BASSically.net”, February 27, 2000 (11/10/2002)
The most comprehensive manual for learning how to sight read on the market today.

One word to describe this book – COMPREHENSIVE! For many musicians reading music is an often overlooked aspect of their musicianship, and for some musicians sight reading has been a dreadful and painful experience up to this point. But now in this book, Ron Velosky shares his practical and extensive experiences with us in an easy to understand fashion. Let’s face it, there is no real shortcut to learning how to read music. It is for this reason that many people never learn how to do it. However, if you want to be a really well-rounded player and be able to communicate with other musicians on common ground, then you really owe it to yourself to learn how to read the language of music. If you’ve struggled with reading music in the past, like many of us have at one point or another, then this book is the answer to all your sight reading problems. Sight reading is one aspect of music that you just can’t ever do enough of or get too good at. It doesn’t matter if you are a complete novice or a bassist who has been on the scene for twenty plus years, you will become a more knowledgeable and prolific sight reader through the study of this book.

Ron begins the book by explaining some basic, general music theory including the concepts of pulse, rhythm and meter. He then, in a very orderly fashion, explores the various subdivisions of a measure in the time signature of 4/4 including whole notes, half notes, eighth notes, quarter notes, sixteenth notes and all of their related rests. Through various fret board graphs Ron illustrates the location of the notes on the fret board along with suggested fingering and shifts. At strategically placed sections you’ll find review sections. These pages give you, the student a chance to interact with the book and check your understanding of the previously presented materials. Very nice indeed! Also in this book, you’ll find information pertaining to key signatures, arpeggios, ties, dots and dynamics. Ron expands on his written examples by sharing with you a vast collection of good advice and everyday useful analogies. To augment on help clarify the advantages of reading line contours and looking ahead in the music. Ron offers his insight on how to go about practicing sight reading along with a great analogy of how you can relate musical phrasing to spoken words. In order to get yourself in the right state of mind before actually reading a new piece of music, Ron lays out a useful checklist of questions that you should ask yourself before starting any sort of new material. Before concluding, Ron offer up a serious buffet of highly advanced and syncopated 16th note funk lines (good luck to you here), and then concludes with some helpful advice on how to approach triplets and compound meters.

This book is laid out in a very orderly fashion. The text is an easy to understand manner, and the precision of the actual notation makes reading through this book extremely easy. Electric bassists and acoustic upright players alike will benefit greatly from the wealth of information that Ron has presented us with in this book. Bottom Line: Sight Reading for the Bass may be the most important investment you ever make in your musical education. Period. This book is a can’t miss.

C. Engel - N/A

'Review from Wheat's Bass Book: (11/10/2002)
A comprehensive method/resource for the electric bass
http://venus.jtlnet.com/~wheatdes/bassbook
For those of you interested in learning to read standard notation . Ron Velosky's 'Sight Reading for the Bass' /// is the best resource I've found.

Wheat - N/A
Sight Reading for the Bass (11/10/2002)
'Ron Velosky, in Sight Reading for the Bass. Has written a concise and comprehensive, yet easy to follow guide for the beginning bass sight reader. The book is composed in a clear and intutative way; it's examples are practical ones, and it's lessons can be immediately applied to everyday reading situations. It is the most effective reading text for beginners I have used in 26 years of teaching the bass, and it has become one of our main text in the Electric Bass Techniques course offered here at Shoreline C.C. A classic book along with Simandl, The Evolving Bassist and Modern Reading Text in 4/; it is a must for anyone who is serious about learning to sight tread on the bass'.

Steve Kim - WA
Mike Richmond, jazz bassist (11/10/2002)
'Sight Reading for the Bass' is a practical, step by step approach to a necessary skill. Ron covers all aspects od sight reading in a methodical and musical fashion'.

Mike - CA
  • 1

  • IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    JIMI HENDRIX: THE COMPLETE SCORES
    JIMI HENDRIX:
    THE COMPLETE
    SCORES
    This masterwork contains vocal, guitar, bass and drum parts for 52 songs from four albums in its 1040 pages. Standard notation and TAB. Hardbound in purple velvet, with a slipcase. Magnificent.

    IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    SLAP IT!
    SLAP IT!
    Also check out the
    ONLINE COURSE

    Tony Oppenheim's SLAP IT! will give rookies the right start and help pros refine their touch. Audio tracks included.

    The ONLINE COURSE is a lifetime subscription that accesses more exercises and lessons. Like Volume 2 of SLAP IT!

    EBOOKS

    Save time and money (and reduce your carbon footprint!). Order books and transcriptions in easy-to-download PDF form. Read them on a desktop, laptop, phone or tablet, and print out pages as you wish.

    Click here to check out our full list of EBOOKS (over 160 titles)

    Click here for EBOOK download info and instructions

    OUR NEWSLETTER

    Sign up for our newsletter, THE LOWDOWN, and get the word on new products and happenings.


    Preferred Email Format:


    Your email address will be securely stored by MailChimp, our e-newsletter processor, and will never be shared with anyone, for any reason, period.

    View the current issue of
    THE LOWDOWN
    .

    BUY MORE AND SAVE

    We offer discounts based on the number of titles purchased in a single order. You will see the discounts automatically applied during checkout.
    3-5
    5% off
    6-9
    10% off
    10 or more
    15% off
    PLEASE NOTE:
    Discounts apply to merchandise only, not shipping fees.

    IN THE SPOTLIGHT

    ESSENTIAL SIGHTREADING STUDIES FOR BASS, 3 Vol. set
    ESSENTIAL
    SIGHTREADING
    STUDIES FOR BASS
    3-VOLUME SET
    -EBOOK/PDF VERSION-
    These three books from David Motto make up one of the great sightreading resources of all time. Available singly or as a set, in print or ebook form, with accompanying audio.

    GETTING STARTED

    Just learning your way around the bass? We'll start you right.

    Click here to see all our Beginners titles.

    PLAY BASS TODAY
    PLAY BASS TODAY
    Teach yourself to play bass guitar at your own pace. Includes CD with instruction and backing tracks.

    BEGINNING ELECTRIC BASS
    BEGINNING
    ELECTRIC BASS
    Part one of a three-part series, this book introduces music theory, scales and chords. Learn to build cool bass lines.

    Click here to see all our Beginners titles.

    LET'S GET SOCIAL


    Facebook Twitter




    Perfect Pitch Ear Training Course





    A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
    0 Item(s)
    US$0.00